MRPP Steering Committee 2015

The Master of Research and Public Policy (MRPP) is governed by a Steering Committee (SC), which guides all aspects of development and implementation of the collaborative programme.

It operates through working groups with technical and academic expertise from each of the 12 universities in seven countries and PASGR-appointed external resource persons.

The Committee comprises senior representatives designated by the Vice-Chancellors of each participating university and PASGR’s Director of Higher Education. It is co-chaired by Prof Gelase Mutahaba (University of Dar es Salaam) and PASGR’s Executive Director.

The SC was involved in course design and its mandate covers course development, upgrading and ensuring that the MRPP maintains the high standards that are its hallmark. The Committee’s input was crucial to the September-October launch in some universities, and in the post-launch monitoring and evaluation in November.

Two Steering Committee Meetings held in January and August 2015 provided strategic guidance towards programme launch and implementation. In addition to providing day to day leadership for programme implementation in their respective universities, SC members have imparted fundamental insights for strengthening and expanding the MRPP network as well as developing a doctoral initiative.

The Steering Committee members are:

Prof Abena Oduro University of Ghana, Ghana
Prof Gelase Mutahaba University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Prof Mark Okere Egerton University Kenya
Mr Tiberius Barasa Maseno University, Kenya
Mr Rashid Mfaume Mzumbe University, Tanzania
Prof Elizabeth Bacwayo Uganda Christian University, Uganda
Prof Maximiano Ngabirano Uganda Martyrs University, Uganda
Dr Bashi Mothusi University of Botswana, Botswana
Prof Akinpelu O. Olutayo University of Ibadan, Nigeria
Dr Haruna Bonaventure University of Jos, Nigeria
Prof Solomon Akinboye University of Lagos, Nigeria
Mr Samuel Weekes University of Sierra Leone, Sierra Leone